Measuring Up in the World

Standard

When I was around the age of 14, my parents flew me across the country to California, where we explored the amazing wonders of nature on the West Coast.  The Giant Redwood Forest made the biggest impression on me.  As a small child, the enormous trees towered overhead.  Brutally aware of my tininess, these trees really put some things into perspective.  Hundreds of years old, the redwoods can only really be experienced in person.  There is something so moving about having to lay down on the ground and gaze up into the sky in order to fully see a tree.  The sheer width of their trunks is so big that it would take four or five adults linking arms to measure the circumference of one of the youngest members of the forest.  Man-made bridges cut into the trunks were so large; I would wager that vans could even drive through.  In order to climb one of these majestic tress, a person would need harnesses and equipment.  To put these ancient beauties into perspective for you, I included the picture below:

Photo provided by: bioweb.uwlax.edu

Photo provided by: bioweb.uwlax.edu

These trees have lived through Native Americans, invasions, and social revolutions.  It is easy to see why this small slice of heaven is one of my favorite places on earth.  Hopefully, I will be able to experience their beauty again in my lifetime.

10 thoughts on “Measuring Up in the World

  1. Cynthia, I’ve always wanted to go to California and just explore the beautiful state. I’ve always wanted to go to the different beaches, but this makes me want to check out the forests! I bet the massive trees are a gorgeous vision of green and I bet at night the skies are clear and you can see the stars light up.

  2. Great post Cynthia! It’s great to see such a different perspective on California. I have a ton of family out there who live primarily in southern California, which is nothing like you described. Its great to hear a different story about California than what you see a lot in the media like Hollywood, Laguna Beach, or Calabasas (Kardashians). You’ve definitely inspired me to try to explore the nature of California on my next visit.

  3. Cynthia, my favorite place was also California, and you have absolutely inspired be to visit this Redwood Forrest. Your experience reminded me so much of when my dad took me to visit Yosemite National Park out in California. I have never been so overwhelmed by beauty in my life. Even though I was only 13 it was an experience I will never forget. I was in shock from the wildlife, historic trees, waterfalls, and mountains scenes. I hope I can return one day now that I am older for an entire new experience of it’s beauty!

    • Brooke, maybe we could plan a trip! 🙂 Yosemite was my second favorite choice actually, which is funny you brought it up. I know exactly what you mean about the overwhelming feeling you get from seeing the beauty.

  4. Cynthia, I have always want to go to California. I have not been west of Colorado and it has always been a dream of mine to visit the West Coast of the country. I like that you brought up the beauty of the state other than the cities that we are all familiar with. After hearing about your adventure there, it makes me want to go to California that much more.

Leave a Reply

