PRactice

Standard
Image provided by: www.blastmedia.com

Image provided by: http://www.blastmedia.com

When entering Savannah Arts Academy for high school, I was required to pick a major.  Given the choice between Dance, Theater, Band and Communication, I had a tough decision.  Eventually, my love of language won out over my other hobbies.  Little did I know, I was making the first step on my career path.  Coming into college, I wanted to explore my options.  I started with a degree in Early Childhood Education. Then I switched between Accounting, Journalism, Marketing, and eventually made it to Public Relations.  Finally, I found a major to fit my interests.

Public Relations is in essence a melting pot of reputation management, event planning, campaigning, public speaking, and the list goes on and on.  A practitioner can use tools from a variety of channels, such as social media and printed publications, to reach the intended audience.  Choosing a particular audience to target is key.  To effectively communicate with that audience, PR practitioners are mindful of certain concepts and theories used in psychology and other humanity fields.  This is why Public Relations particularly appeals to me.  It makes you stop and think about what you are saying and how you are saying it. It makes you assess how much of your actually message was received by someone.  Because of this way of thinking, I have been able to enhance my communication skills.  I have been able to fine tune my language.  These tools I have learned from my communication studies will be my building blocks to my entire life, in and outside of my firm.

8 thoughts on “PRactice

  1. I could not agree more. I can’t believe how far my communication skills have come. The more we learn the more we realize that when we communicate we aren’t only aiming to learn something about another person through language, but the word choices we choose says just as much about ourselves as it does seeking information about someone else. Sounds like you are well on your way to succeed in this major!

  2. PRogression

    I also like that PR makes you really think about what you’re saying. It’s challenging to have to figure out not only how well your message is being received, but also what the best way to alter it would be in order for your target audience to receive it better in the future. I like puzzles and challenges, so I really enjoy this about PR too.

  3. I agree whole completely. Being a PR major has taken my already amazing communication skills and made them ten times better. PR is like the little angel on your shoulder making sure that you’re making the right/best choice when it comes to interaction with an audience.

Leave a Reply

