Thank You, and You, and You, and You…

Standard
Photo provided by: www.nharmony.org

Photo provided by: http://www.klce.com

Thanksgiving is next Thursday, but before the turkey can go on the table, it is tradition to take a moment and thank The Lord for the special people and opportunities in our lives.  Many people make elegant blessings to speak over their meal; however, I wanted to take my thankfulness to the next level.  Beginning Nov. 1, I used my Facebook profile as a billboard to express what I was thankful for each day.  I was not extremely dedicated to post something each and every day, but the practice did get me thinking.  I was constantly telling myself, “well, I am thankful for ____ today” or “wow, what a great opportunity, I wish I could do _____ more often” or even, “____ is so inspiring, I am lucky to know them and be a part of their lives”.  Everyday, I became aware of the people, the opportunities, the blessings that surround my life.  The more I became aware, the more I realized I had to be thankful for.

Here are some of the posts I wrote on my Facebook:

Nov. 1st: I’m thankful for friends who celebrate holidays for the entire weekend. — with Holly Muhlhan and 2 others.

Nov. 2nd: I’m thankful for my Dad, who taught me to love the game of football, win or lose.

Nov. 3rd: I’m thankful for my fluffy bed and all of my pillows; sometimes it’s just nice to take a “mental health day”.

Nov. 4th: I’m thankful for my roommate Kara who enjoys decadent cupcakes just as much as I do.

Nov. 6th: I’m thankful for my persistent pup who wakes me up just in time to get ready for class!

Nov. 7th: I’m thankful for having the opportunity to go to Georgia Southern University where everyone comes together for homecoming. #GATA

Nov. 11: I’m thankful for the brave men and women who have defended my freedom. 🇺🇸Happy Veteran’s Day. 🗽

Nov. 21: I’m thankful that my Thanksgiving break starts TODAY. After a completed 115 pg campaign and several 20 pg papers, this week has been… challenging. Savannah has been calling my name for months and I finally get to go home.

Photo provided by: www.stephenhicks.org

Photo provided by: http://www.stephenhicks.org

I was surprised by the response I received on these posts.  The majority of them got several “likes” and comments.  Something that started out as personal practice, turned into something that my friends and family became involved with.  Although I still have a couple of days left, the most important thing I’ve learned from this experience is to be thankful every single day for the amazing people who surround my life with laughter and love.  It is these people whom I owe every blessing to, because without them, my daily journey would be but a shell of an existence.  The Lord has truly given me an extraordinary life.

Photo provided by: www.nharmony.org

Photo provided by: http://www.nharmony.org

5 thoughts on “Thank You, and You, and You, and You…

  1. That was such a wonderful idea to express to your friends and family what you are thankful for. Often times we forget just how thankful we are until there is an opportunity to be reminded, and it looks like you found yours. I can relate a lot to the what you are thankful for, especially thankful that the campaign book is over ! Great post! Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

